Blogging as ‘storage’?

Half term holiday began today for me at 12.00 when I left work. I spent some of my free time learning lines (a necessity, as it’s ‘books down’ for Act 1 on Sunday) and then a few usual Friday-ish chores before picking up Children of Mine from school. Husband of Mine is cooking (hoorah!) so I thought I’d get down some thoughts for today’s post while I get the chance.

I’m going to try hard not to be too clever on this blog (shouldn’t be that difficult actually!). Coming to this as late as I do in the life cycle of blogging, I don’t have any grand agenda – I don’t want to be a writer; and I am not someone who is full of witty insights, or an expert in the latest trends. Put simply, I like what the online world has to offer in comparison with the more traditional world of diaries, journals and scrapbooks and hope that a blog will serve that purpose.  For me, it will be the diary that I always started writing every year and never finished; where I can record things that happened that day, remember and reflect on things that happened in my past, and ponder on things that may happen in my future.  It will be the scrapbooks that I’m always promising myself I will update and never have; merely tossing memories into a cardboard box to sort out ‘another day’. It will also serve as the photo album for what I consider to be my best snaps, as opposed to those that I keep, regardless of whether they’re any good or not, but simply because I can’t bear to throw them out.

And of course, adding my show archives slowly but surely – today is the turn of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe’s Honk! A Musical Comedy.

A thought – is all this cataloguing a bit geeky?  Of course it is – and as Husband of Mine would say, it’s just another outlet for my obsessive need for ‘storage’…

2 thoughts on “Blogging as ‘storage’?

  1. I know what you mean, on a regular basis I PDF my Facebook profile pages as it gives me a pretty good diary of what has been going on in my life, how I have been feeling and how others feel about it! I like the concept of diarys but am often to busy/lazy to write now…..and my diarys of teenage years and twenties (note the tail off after becoming a mum!) are revisited from time to time and bring great joy and interesting life lessons! So between 2000 and 2007 (FB start date) there are often blanks……that thankfully photos fill in to a degree and sadly enough bank statements!

    • I so agree. I’ve kept many old diaries (and certainly have kept all of them since the children were born). When I come across one, I can’t resist flicking through to see what I was doing – even just the listing of events in a particular week trigger memories of what was happening in my life at that time.

      I’ve always found it hard to migrate to an electronic diary – I’ve tried, on numerous devices – but have always ended up with the paper one staying up to date and the electronic one being abandoned!

Leave a Reply

