A creative ‘first’ in art…

I composed my first abstract painting for about 25 years yesterday. 

I was accompanying a group of students who were working with adults with learning disabilities at a day centre to create a large-scale abstract work in the style of the Russian painter and art theorist, Vassily Vassilyevich Kandinsky.  To my surprise, I was invited to “have a go”.  So I did.  This the result. 

Kandinsky’s paintings of purely abstract work followed a long period of development and maturation of intense theoretical thought.  I had two hours, give or take… not sure what an art critic would say about it –  probably that it doesn’t look a jot like it’s inspired by Kandinsky (I never did listen in class)  – but boy, did I have fun!  I’m seriously thinking about getting some canvasses and acrylics to experiment with over the Easter holidays. 

At least it would give me something to hang on my oh so bare walls…

Leave a Reply

